Half day tour
° Museum of Losinj

Price from: 110 HRK
Book now
You won't be charged yet

Museum visit to discover history

Highlights
  • APOX museum
  • Tower of Losinj
Live guide
  • Croatian, English
Printed or mobile voucher accepted

Apox museum Losinj The bronze statue of the young athlete Apoxyomenos is a unique find not only in the Adriatic Sea, but also in the world. It was found on the seabed off the isle of Vele Orjule near Mali Lošinj at a depth of 45 metres. The statue was discovered extant, with only the little finger of the left hand missing, and part of the original bronze plinth, which was separated from the statue, was still attached to the sole of the right foot Tower of Veli Lošinj The first floor is dedicated to the history of Veli Lošinj from prehistory untill the 20th century. Although there are several prehistoric localities on the Island Lošinj, first permanent inhabitants came at the end of the 13th century and founded Veli Lošinj. During time new representative buildings where built, which are presented on the panel with the most important cultural and historical monuments and places. The central place takes installation with amphorae found in the underwater of island Ilovik. Turkish and Austrian weapons from 18th and 19th century is also exhibited. The weapons is donation of doctor Ana Jakša. The Archaeological collection of Osor The beginnings of a long and turbulent history of the Archaeological Collection of Osor reach back to the 18th century, related to Dinaričić, the Bishop of Osor who acquired the first collection of stone monuments in the Bishop's Palace in Osor, according to the records by Alberto Fortis from 1771. A hundred years later, the collecting passion of Bishop Dinaričić continues with Ivan Kvirin Bolmarčić, a parish priest. As an amateur archaeologist, he undertook the first archaeological explorations in Osor in the period from 1874 to 1881, researching the city walls and the Illiric-Roman Necropolis on the Lošinj side of the Kavuada channel, eventually acquiring a respectable archaeological collection which consisted of several thousand items in 1880. In 1889, the archaeological collection of the parish priest Bolmarčić became the property of the Municipality of Osor, it moved into the building of the Osor City Hall and was opened officially to public. Fritzy Palace Through its history, the Fritzi Palace was repeatedly restored and modified, but it has retained the essential characteristics of the second half of the 19th century that are most visible in a representative historicist facade. The palace is a 4-storey building with rather high ceilings, which makes it higher than the neighbouring buildings. In the central axis of the building there are stairs leading from the street via the two-storey terrace to the central door whose position and proportions suggest the main entrance. However, the central door leads into the space of the present-day gallery, while the main entrance to the building is located in the extreme south-eastern part of the building. This entrance corresponds to the staircase of the building leading all the way up to the attic. Stairs and landings are made of stone up to the first floor of the building,

What's included
  • tickets
Not included
  • transfer
Itinerary|
• Date -
Edit Date
  • - | Starting point | Tower of Losinj
  • - | Station | Muzej APOX
  • - | Station | Muzej Palaca Fritzy
  • - | Station | Osor muzej
Departure location|
Veli Lošinj
Hosted by - Tourist agency VAL